top of page

Pride and Prejudice : A Review

Book :Pride And Prejudice

Author : Jane Austen

Genre : Classic Fiction

First Published In : 1813

“In vain have I struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.”

I am feeling a bit spent and vulnerable at the moment, so please bear with me. You see, I decided I wanted to get more literated by reading the "classics" in between my steady flow of science fiction, mystery and horror. The question was where to begin. However, I must admit I was hesitant going in to this for two big reasons. One, I thought it might be a bit too romantical for me. The second, and much more distressing, reason was that Twilight was on many of the same lists as this book. Austen fans should pull a nutty over that one.Where my massive crush on Jane Austen began: alone, on a hot day in my room, cursing her name. I had to read it for a Book readers contest first in 2008 ya I know some 12 years ago and I could not see the point. Girls need to marry. Girls can't get married. Girls are sad. Girls get married. Girls are happy.


I went to school to half -heartedly discuss it and waffled and wavered in an effort to please my teacher. Finally twenty pages of literary criticism later, I was hooked. Once you know what to look for, it's hilarious. Once you're keyed into the contextual life of women, you have to feel for the plight of the Bennet sisters, and laugh at the crudity of their mother and Mr. Collins. "I cannot fix on the hour, or the spot, or the look, or the words, which laid the foundation. It is too long ago. I was in the middle before I knew that it had begun."This was Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy's reply when Ms. Elizabeth Bennet asked him when he fell in love with her.


Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen had put my left out dictionary into good use.Because it did not only have a rich text to be adorned but equally rich grammar and usage of words which I don’t think I can even pronounce, let alone use everyday. And as I thither away to the ending of this book review I urge every reader out there to give it a read ! Have a Happy Reading ! drop down in the comments as to how you feel about the book I would love to hear all your reviews as well !

33 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page