top of page

In conversation with : Birthday

How strange it seems, that old age follows youth! when all the world seemed one's own, at that time, with time enough to seek a higher truth - who'd guess the stairs so steep, so slow to climb? Worn carpets and worn kneecaps are old age - and yet, a blessed time for a life of the mind: for those who wish, a different sense of wage; free-chosen universal work to find; and yet more blessed still: that earth-bound soul to meet and greet, and work its soil and flowers; to live with gratitude, and scan the whole to find that one which proves the whole world ours. As iron age yields to the gold of truth, so our old age may find within, true youth. I know a lot of us to have to celebrate our birthdays in quarantine, well guess what I am a part of too.
By Michael Shepherd

So I was talking to my birthday which falls on the 30th of may I said why are dang damn in the middle of summer breaks all my friends are on breaks at that time, and now that I am in college we have exams during that period. And this year 2020 it is just exceptional I will have a birthday within four walls. That's just unfair.

My birthday said how many people have a birthday every day - I said many

How many people do you wish every day -I said I don't wish birthdays every day

Do you know people whom you couldn't wish - I said yes

Do people forget to wish you - I said yes


So Muskan when people don't even remember or can wish on the allotted day how do wish to celebrate every year a happy birthday.

There are people who do not even know when their birthday is and they just select a random day, but that is not because they want to celebrate their BIRTHDAY but because they celebrate their birth, their existence and their luck that has kept them happy or/ and healthy and ALIVE another year.


And then my birthday vanished. I lay across my bed thinking about what he said, and through this I wanted to wish everyone out there whose birthday is today a very happy birthday and to all the 7 billion people out their a very happy existence to all of us.


This year, month day time I wish not just birthdays but a happier future and peace to everyone. I want to wish a healthy mental space and a calm environment.

I want to gift to you the joy of reading and exploring. To be as free as a bird and to have skies without horizon. Today and everyday I wish to celebrate the joy of living!

Its been 19 years of my existence to every year I say thank you for making me who I am for I may have gone distraught but you have always given me time to come back! To come back home.


Just past dawn, the sun stands with its heavy red head in a black stanchion of trees, waiting for someone to come with his bucket for the foamy white light, and then a long day in the pasture. I too spend my days grazing, feasting on every green moment till darkness calls, and with the others I walk away into the night, swinging the little tin bell of my name.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page